Web Mobril

1 week ago · 3 min. reading time · visibility 0 ·

chat Contact the author

thumb_up Relevant message Comment

Google Lets Users Password Protect Their Search History- Here’s How To Do It

Google has made your webpage activity a little more secured with its new update that allows you to password-protect your Web and Activity page. The page contains all your activities across Google services. It includes searches, YouTube watch history, Google assistant queries, Map usage and more. In its recent I/O event keynote, the company mentioned the growing privacy concerns among the users and announced these new updates on the same line. The updates are- Android’s new Private Compute Core, a locked photos folder, and quick-deleting the past 15 minutes of browsing in Chrome.
Addressing the users’ concern and ensuring their privacy, Google is now trying to avoid those who randomly pick someone's device to use and peep into their web activity. A password can protect a user’s activity from getting easily accessed by others using the same device they’re logged into.
The saved activity data is occasionally helpful for users as they can refer to it while trying to retrace how they found something. However, the primary reason why Google keeps track of it is to serve users with personalized ads and suggestions.  

For the first time, users have been provided with a tool to prevent their data from getting viewed by people who shouldn’t be seeing it. Previously, all anyone would have to do to view someone’s search history is pick up their phone or laptop and type activity.google.com into the address bar.

But now with the new verification option, users can password-protect the Google activity. They need to activate verification by visiting Google's Web & App Activity page settings and click on the 'Manage My Activity' verification link. Next, they have to select the 'Required Extra Verification' option, followed by saving and entering the password to confirm the changes.

Here’s the detail about how to password protect your Google search history.

Follow These Steps to Turn on Verification: 

  • Login to your Google account using the valid credentials, for which you want to protect your web history. 
    Once you get logged in, navigate to the activity.google.com page.
     
  • On the activity page, you will find Manage My Activity Verification (hyperlink text), click the same.  
    A dialogue box will open where you can see two options- Require Extra Verification and Don’t Require Extra Verification. For password protection, click on Require Extra Verification and then save. 
     
  • In the next step, enter your password to confirm your identity.
    On completion of the above steps, you have successfully protected your activity page. Thereafter, a Verify button will appear on your screen in place of your history.
     
  • When you click the Verify button, it will take you to a screen asking you to enter your account password.  
    You can get into the activity page after entering your password and can access your full history.

Alternative Ways to Manage Your Google Activity History
You can find other ways to manage your web data as Google offers multiple methods to manage your activity history. 

Try the Following Steps: 
On the activity.google.com page, you will find a row of buttons named as different services from Google. There you can toggle data collection on and off.
When you click on one of the buttons, you will be redirected to another window where you can choose to have your activity automatically deleted after a set period.
Based on your convenience, you can choose to auto-delete your Google activity after- 3 months, 18 months, or 36 months.
Besides this auto-deletion method, Google has also given the option for manual deletion. Yes, you can manually delete your saved history at any point in time. The company has recently added an interesting option for this.

Delete Last 15 Minutes of Google Search History
A few weeks ago, at the Google I/O event, the company introduced a feature that lets users easily delete the last 15 minutes of search history from their device. The process is not just easy but also very quick. To use this process, you have to first tap on the profile picture of your Google account. There you will find the option Delete last 15 minutes, simply click on it and done.

You can use this option in cases when you would have been exploring a topic that falls far away from your typical interests. Manually deleting the last 15 minutes history will prevent it to be used for personalized future ads and search results based on unusual queries.

c7qCY.jpeg

There is more than just password-protecting your Google search history. The company's Web and App Activity page may allow users to check out the activity that Google saves, and whether or not it is being auto-deleted. Once you are convinced with the settings, you can save the changes. However, in case you are not satisfied with the current settings, you can change them immediately on the same page. 

thumb_up Relevant message Comment
Comments